

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

District 1 Dr. Deena Horst

Janet Waugh

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 3

District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE JANUARY 2021 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Board Action

- Elected Jim Porter as Board Chair and re-elected Janet Waugh as Vice Chair during reorganization of the Board for 2021-2023.
- Elected Deena Horst and Ben Jones to serve as Legislative Liaisons for the State Board.
- Elected Jean Clifford, Deena Horst and Betty Arnold to the Board's Policy Committee.
- Designated Mark Ferguson as the State Board Attorney and Peggy Hill as Board Secretary.
- Approved the recommended performance levels and cut scores for grades K-12 Kansas English Language Proficiency Assessments.
- Accepted the report from the School Mental Health Advisory Council on the implementation of the Bullying Task Force recommendations.
- Adopted the recommendations of the Professional Practices Commission on two licensure cases – one issuance with public censure and one denial.
- Accepted the redesign plans for the Gemini II and Apollo schools identified as a "go" for launch for the 2020-21 school year. They were: Ell-Saline Elementary (Ell-Saline USD 307), Wiley Elementary and Hutchinson STEM Magnet School (Hutchinson USD 308), and Stafford Middle / High School (Stafford USD 349).

Updates

- Administrators from Buhler USD 313 and Hutchinson USD 308 described how they were able to successfully use the Navigating Change guidance document to open schools safely and implement ways for students to demonstrate skills in new contexts.
- Members learned how increased collaboration between KSDE and the Kansas Board of Regents is being illustrated through work-based learning pilot programs and focus on students' Individual Plans of Study, in particular the IPS connection to postsecondary success.
- The Special Education Advisory Council's annual report was an overview of the past year, including improvement to transition services and challenges during the pandemic.

Recognition

- Welcomed new Board members Melanie Haas, District 2, and Betty Arnold, District 8.
- Recognized student officers with Career Technical Student Organizations during the annual Citizenship Day and learned how they used CTSO skills for positive outcomes this past year.

Next Meeting - Feb. 9 and 10, 2021.